92nd Academy Awards may have lacked many things but diversity was not one of them. The 92nd Academy Awards showed us that the Academy can do a good plot twist. Many had expected the film 1917 to sweep the night. South Korean film Parasite won the big prizes as well as bragging rights. It made history by becoming the first non-English film to win the Best Picture category in the 92-year history of the Oscars. 1917 was seen as the type of film that wins Oscars and was a fan favorite.

The Night Belonged To Parasite

Besides winning the most coveted category of the night, Parasite was the first South Korean film to ever be nominated for an Oscar. The film won the Best Picture, Best International Film, Best Original Screenplay, and Bong Joon-ho won the Best Director category. “Thought I was done, but there was still a Best Picture left,” Bong Joon-ho celebrated.

War drama 1917 won Best Cinematography as was expected. It also won Best Visual Effects. The movie, a World War 1 epic, was made such that it appeared like one single shot. Toy Story 4 won the Best Animated Feature and Jojo Rabbit won Best Adopted Screenplay.

Joaquin Phoenix was triumphant in the Best Actor in the Leading Role category. Renée Zellweger was victorious in the Best Actress in the Leading Role category. Brad Pitt achieved his inaugural acting Academy Award for his rendition as stuntman Cliff Booth in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

Host-less Ceremony

92nd Academy Award ceremony was yet again without a host. The ceremony is the icing on the cake of the award season in Hollywood. The night presenters were former winners Rami Malek, Regina King, Olivia Colman, and Mahershala Ali. Performers of the night included Janelle Monae, who opened the show with an electrifying performance and there was a surprise performance by rap artist Eminem. Pixar’s Toy Story 4 nabbed the animated feature prize, while Paramount’s Rocketman won for original song. Actor Wes Studi and filmmakers David Lynch and Lina Wertmuller received Honorary Oscars; Geena Davis received the Jean Hershoolt Humanitarian Award.

Here is a complete list of the winners:

Best Picture

“Ford v Ferrari”

“The Irishman”

“Jojo Rabbit”


“Little Women”

“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”

“Marriage Story”

“Parasite” – WINNER


Actress in a Supporting Role

Kathy Bates, “Richard Jewell”

 Laura Dern, “Marriage Story” – WINNER

Scarlett Johansson, “Jojo Rabbit”

Florence Pugh, “Little Women”

Margot Robbie, “Bombshell”

Actors in a Supporting Role

Tom Hanks, “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”

Anthony Hopkins, “The Two Popes”

Al Pacino, “The Irishman”

Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”

 Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood – WINNER

International Feature Film

South Korea, “Parasite” –  WINNER

Spain, “Pain and Glory”

France, “Les Misérables”

North Macedonia, “Honeyland”

Poland, “Corpus Christi”

Documentary (Short)

“In the Absence”

“Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)” – WINNER

Life Overtakes Me”

“St. Louis Superman”

“Walk Run Cha-Cha”

Documentary Feature

“American Factory” – WINNER

“The Edge of Democracy”


“For Sama”

“The Cave”

Original Song

“I’m Standing With You,” “Breakthrough”

“Into the Unknown,” “Frozen II”

“Stand Up,” “Harriet”

“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” “Rocketman” – WINNER

“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away,” “Toy Story 4”

Animated Feature Film

“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”

“I Lost My Body”


“Missing Link”

“Toy Story 4 – WINNER

Adapted Screenplay

‘Jojo Rabbit’

“The Irishman”

“Jojo Rabbit”- WINNER

“Little Women”

“The Two Popes”


Original Screenplay

“Marriage Story”

“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

“Parasite” – WINNER

“Knives Out”


Actor in a Leading Role

Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”

Leonardo DiCaprio, “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”

Adam Driver, “Marriage Story”

Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker” – WINNER

Jonathan Pryce, “The Two Popes”

Actress in a Leading Role

Cynthia Erivo, “Harriet”

Scarlett Johansson, “Marriage Story”

Saoirse Ronan, “Little Women”

Renée Zellweger, “Judy” – WINNER

Charlize Theron, “Bombshell”


Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman”

Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite” – WINNER

Sam Mendes, “1917”

Todd Phillips, “Joker”

Production Design

“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood”- WINNER

“The Irishman”


“Jojo Rabbit”



“1917”- WINNER

“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”

“The Irishman”


“The Lighthouse”

Costume Design

“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”

“Little Women” – WINNER

“The Irishman”

“Jojo Rabbit”


Sound Editing


“Ford v Ferrari” – WINNER

“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”


Sound Mixing

“1917” – WINNER

“Ford v Ferrari”

“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”

“Ad Astra”


Animated Short Film

“Dcera (Daughter)”

“Hair Love” – WINNER




Live Action Film


“Nefta Football Club”

“The Neighbors’ Window” – WINNER


“A Sister”

Original Score

“1917,” Thomas Newman

“Joker,” Hildur Guðnadóttir – WINNER

“Little Women,” Alexandre Desplat

“Marriage Story,” Randy Newman

“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” John Williams

Visual Effects

“Avengers: Endgame”

“The Lion King”

“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

“The Irishman”

“1917” – WINNER

Film Editing

“The Irishman”

“Ford v Ferrari- WINNER



“Jojo Rabbit”

Makeup and Hairstyling

“Bombshell”- WINNER



“Maleficent: Mistress of Evil”



  1. https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/92nd-academy-awards-review-1278332
  2. https://www.washingtonpost.com/arts-entertainment/2020/02/09/oscars-live-updates/
  3. https://www.ndtv.com/entertainment/92nd-academy-awards-oscar-winners-brad-pitt-is-best-supporting-actor-2177611
  4. https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/trends/entertainment/oscar-2020-full-list-of-the-winners-of-92nd-academy-awards-4924781.html
  5. https://oscar.go.com/news/winners
  6. https://edition.cnn.com/2020/02/09/entertainment/oscars-winners-2020-list/index.html
Please like, share and follow us:

Leave a Comment